• Jayden J Bartlett

2020 AFL Sydney Women's Team of the Year

2020 was in most accounts, a year like no other--but amazingly, the AFL Sydney Women's Premier Division not only managed to start, but also managed to fully finish their season.

The Minor Round was a fascinating one, with both highs and lows. The high being the Wolves that only lost one game for the season--and the low being the performance of the Bats, Bulldogs and Warriors, all of which only claimed one win for the season. While Sydney University narrowly missed out on a finals spot.

The Major Round saw the evenly matched Elimination Final between the Magpies and Bombers was decided by a single goal. While the second placed Eagles defeated the Power by 23 points--only to narrowly fall to the Minor Premiers the following week by a goal.

The Magpies, who just snuck into finals, continued their push towards the big dance by defeating the Power by 11 points, and they would go onto defeat the earlier mentioned Eagles the following week, 41 to 27. Only to fall to the Minor Premiers by 21 points in the big dance--which makes the Eagles the only side to defeat the Premiers all year.

From all of these ups and downs, standout seasons to one-win seasons, we have taken all the best performances, or at least the best in our eyes--and have put them into our 2020 AFL Sydney Team of the Year.

Scroll down for the Team of the Year, plus a small breakdown of the named squad.

Captain: Claudia Gunjaca Vice-Captain: Georgia Garnett

Each club has been represented by at least one player in our 2020 AFL Sydney Women's Team of the Year. The two Grand Finalists, Inner West and Manly Warringah, lead the way with four named players, closely followed by East Coast, North Shore and the Southern Power, all of which have three players represented.

As for the leaders of our Team of the Year, the easy choice for the Captaincy was this year's Mostyn Medalist, Caludia Gunjaca. The Vice-Captaincy goes to an East Coast Eagle that featured heavily during our Team of the Week series, Georgia Garnett.



As most would expect, the Team of the Year has a very potent forward line which is proudly led by the league Leading Goalkicker, Brenna Tarrant who finished off the season with 17 goals from 12 matches--from which she was also named amongst East Coast's best players on ten separate occasions.

Named at full forward is Rebecca Privitelli who managed 21 goals from 12 matches which includes finals, and also finished equal sixth during the Mostyn Medal count. Named alongside Privitelli is Isabella Rudolph who booted 14 goals during 11 games for the Wolves, and Ashlee McClure who managed 17 goals from 11 matches for the Power.

The final spot at half forward goes to another talented Inner West player in Eilish Sheerin who kicked seven goals from eight games, and was named amongst the Magpies best players on seven occasions. Combined, the forward line equates to 76 goals kicked during both the minor and major rounds.


A very talented pair of Wolves find themselves as a part of our followers with Erin McKinnon who managed three goals from eight games, joined by teammate Emily Goodsir who collected four goals from eight matches--the former of which finished equal third to the Mostyn Medal, and the latter of which finished equal sixth.

The remaining follower is East Coast's Sarah Ford who topped off a strong season by collecting four goals from 12 matches, from which she was named amongst the Eagles best on ten occasions--which explains why she finished equal sixth for the Mostyn Medal as well.

Inner West's Lael Kassem, the runner-up to the Mostyn Medal with 11 votes, is named in the centre following her standout season. While the wing is home to North Shore's Nicola Barr who kicked four goals, finished equal third to the Mostyn Medal, and was named amongst the Bomber's best players during all of her seven matches.

On the opposite wing is Sydney University's Mikaela Mahony who was named amongst her side's best players in eight of her nine matches.


Our Captain, Claudia Gunjaca is named at half back, following her stellar season that saw her get named amongst UTS's best players during all of her nine matches--which explains why she won the Mostyn Medal with 16 votes.

Also named down back is our Vice-Captain Georgia Garnett, who was named amongst East Coast's best players during all of her ten matches this year. While named deep in defense is Inner West's Erin Todd who played 12 games for four goals, and was named amongst the Magpies' best players on eight occasions.

Also deep in defense is Caelah Stanley who played nine games for four goals, and was named amongst North Shore's best players on seven separate occasions. The final spot in defense goes to the only Macquarie University player that made this year's side, Elise Franco, who was named amongst their best players during eight of her nine games.


A player that finished equal third to the Mostyn Medal, Kate Reynolds, finds herself on the interchange following her nine game and four goal performance. Also named on our interchange is the only Demon to make this year's side in Madison Hare who made their best players during six of her eight matches.

Sydney University's Lucy Gilfedder finds her place on our interchange after kicking 13 goals in just seven matches this year. While Brodee Mowbray makes the side after getting named amongst the Southern Power's best players during eight of her 11 matches.

The final three spots includes another Southern Power player, this time it is Laura Holdsworth who had a very consistent year in which she managed 11 goals during 11 matches--from which she was named amongst the best players on five occasions.

Manly Warringah's Jessica Layton also makes the side after being named amongst the best players during eight of her 11 matches. The final spot in the side goes to the only UNSW player to make the squad, and that is Senna Gulden who kicked four goals during nine matches--from which she made her side's best players on six occasions.

Feel free to Share, and don't forget to Like and Subscribe for more on Women's Footy!


Minutes with Moose would like to thank all of our ambassadors.

Special Thanks to all those who nominated players for our Team of the Year.

#WatchtheWomen #AFLSydney #TeamoftheYear #MinuteswithMoose

72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All