• Jayden J Bartlett

2020 SFL Women's Team of the Year

The Southern Football League Women’s competition is done and dusted—and there was plenty to take home from the year that was 2020; for the Falcons it was the cup, for the Sharks it was the wooden spoon, for the Saints it was the Best and Fairest, and for the Emus it was the Leading Goalkicker.

But awards aside, going by their home and away records not many would have predicted what the major round had in store for us. Because, following a convincing minor round performance, the undefeated Saints ended up exiting in straight sets—while Reynella, the fourth placed side that only just snuck into finals, ended up storming their way too the big dance where they fell to Flagstaff Hill, 3.10 (28) to 1.1 (7).

Using nominations, research and our SFLW Team of the Weeks as references, we have put together our SFLW Team of the Year for the 2020 season.

Scroll down to see the 2020 SFLW Team of the Year, plus a small breakdown of the squad.

Captain: Melanie Koster

Vice-Captain: Soriah Moon

This year’s Grand Finalists have been well-represented in this our Team of the Year as both Flagstaff Hill and Reynella sit with five named players—along with the Minor Premiers who also have five players represented. Following closely behind these three is the Cobras who fittingly finished third on the ladder and have four named players in this year’s side.

As for the leaders, it is no surprise that Christies Beach midfielder, Melanie Koster has been selected as our Captain following her standout season that not only saw her claim the League Best and Fairest, but her 17 votes doubled that of the runner-up. On that same note, this year’s Vice-Captain goes to the Premiership ruck from the Falcons who also finished runner-up to the earlier mentioned League Best and Fairest, Soriah Moon.

Scroll down to see a small breakdown of the named squad.


The starting forward line equates to a combined total of 34 goals for the season—however more impressive is the fact that half of these goals came from Morphett Vale’s Kate Dunn who finished with 17 goals from seven matches. The next highest goalkicker in our forward line is Kelly Armstrong from Christies Beach who managed a total of eight goals from seven matches.

Cove’s Felicity Oliver finished with seven goals from eight matches, while Morphett Vale’s Katelyn Wilson managed three goals from seven matches—but was name amongst the Emus’ best players during each of those seven games. This is a similar scenario for Aldinga’s Jeanie Papps as she also booted three goals during seven matches but was named amongst the best players during all seven games. Finally, standing proudly at centre half forward is a South Adelaide SANFLW player and Flacons premiership player, Emily Brockhurst who managed six goals from eight matches and finished equal fourth in the League Best and Fairest.


The midfielders and followers are home to our Team of the Year leaders, with Melanie Koster joined by a Glenelg SANFLW player in Soriah Moon who booted 14 goals during just six matches. This is far from the only SANFLW experienced players, as the wing is home to a South Adelaide squad member and talented Falcon, Alana Baker who was named amongst the best players in six of her nine games and finished equal fourth for the League Best and Fairest. On the opposite wing is a talented Glenelg youngster in Tamsyn Morriss who only played six games for the Premiers but was named in the best players during all of these six games.

A true veteran of women’s football also makes our side in the form of a SANFLW Premiership player and talented Hawk, Alana Browne who also finished equal fourth for the League Best and Fairest. The final spot goes to Reynella’s Sarah Bourn who managed seven goals from ten matches and was named among her side’s best players on five separate occasions.


This year’s Team of the Year backline is home to a duo of Reynella talent with the equal fourth in the League Best and Fairest, Zannah Loxton, joined by fellow teammate, Brina Thompson who was named amongst Reynella’s best players in five of her nine matches this season. Also named down back is Flagstaff Hill’s Hannah Griffin who managed to make their best players in six of her nine games.

Christies Beach’s Paige Simmons, who made the best players in three of her nine matches, is named alongside Morphett Vale’s Hannah Armstrong who, like most in this side, finished equal fourth in the League Best and Fairest. Finally, named at centre halfback is Aldinga’s Jaimi Griffen who also finished equal fourth in the League’s medal tally on the back of a standout season that saw her get named amongst the Sharks’ best players in all of her seven games this year.


Two talented talls make our interchange with Reynella’s Anja Bancevic joined by Cove’s Jaime Norup. Bancevic finished fourth for the League Best and Fairest while Norup finished third in the medal count. Joining Bancevic is a fellow Reynella teammate in Emily Woods who collected an impressive nine goals during six matches—a performance that also saw her finish equal fourth for the Best and Fairest. Rounding out the interchange is another Cove player in Dana O’Brien who, once again, also finished fourth in the medal count.

The final three spots in our 2020 SFLW Team of the Year belong to Cove’s Aidene Parr who was named amongst the Cobras’ best players on five separate occasions. She is joined by a duo of Saints talent with Casie Coombe, who collected five goals in seven matches, joined by Hannah Crump, who finished the year with six goals from eight matches.

Feel free to Share, and don't forget to Like and Subscribe for more on Women's Footy!


Minutes with Moose would like to thank all of our ambassadors.

Special Thanks to all those who nominated players for our Team of the Week.

Renee Ullrich, Hannah Fitzpatrick, Sophia Flanagan-Sjoberg, Lily Lee, Shane Bradshaw, Alana Baker.

#WatchtheWomen #SFLW #TeamofhteYear #MinuteswithMoose

199 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All