• Jayden J Bartlett

Winners and Grinners: the 2021 GSFLW Award Winners

Updated: Jul 16, 2021

The Great Southern Football League Women's awards night is done and dusted, with the competition's two leaders, Mt Compass and Willunga, taking most of the awards home with them.

'Willunga's contingent' - image kindly supplied by Shae Archbold.

Willunga, who finished as the minor premiers in both the Open's and U17s, will look to go one further during the 2021 final series.

However, Willunga will have to contend with Mt Compass who have the top two players in the medal count in the midfield and were the best side for the of majority the season.

Likewise, McLaren and their star-studded forward line will also be looking to defend their premiership title. With a list that includes Sheena Peters, Layla Rogers, Tahlita Buethke, and Sophia Flanagan-Sjoberg, they certainly look the best on paper.

Goolwa, who currently has the competition's best ruck at their disposal, will be looking to make some damage during their debut finals appearance and they certainly have the ability to do so.

The 2021 MWM GSFLW Team of the Year will be released during the week of the Grand Final. But the Captain and Vice-Captain of the side be released sooner in a similar fashion to last year's side.


Open Women's Best and Fairest

Open Women's Leading Goalkicker

U17s Best and Fairest

U17s Leading Goalkicker


Open Women's Best and Fairest

The main event, the medal count, saw Demi Sharp from Mt Compass take home the 2021 GSFLW Open Women's Best and Fairest. After a stellar home and away season, typified by her 23 votes, the Mt Compass midfielder topped off her best season so far in style.

"Because I panicked when I got presented the award and was not prepared for a speech I’ll take the time now to say my thanks properly," Demi Sharp said.

"Firstly, my coach, can’t believe I forgot to mention him on stage. Robbo has mentored me from day one. He’s taught me most of what I know and I can’t thank him enough for him believing in me and seeing my potential."

"Even though I’ve disagreed with some of his decisions throughout the seasons I can now see why and I honestly can’t thank him enough! He’s been a magnificent coach, mentor and mate

"I’ve really enjoyed the last 4 seasons and I have nothing but respect for his patience coaching a big group of girls that for some were just starting their footy careers. Even more respect for his patience with me and my attitude, I know it’s a lot to handle on the best of days.

"Obviously a shout out to my Bad girls for being the best team to play for. I’ll say it over and over again, they are an incredible group of girls and their love and support really helped me progress this season."

"A massive thank you to the league and all those that continue to assist in the growth of women’s football. There’s a lot of work behind the scenes and I speak for all the girls and women when I say thank you to those for making women’s football possible.

"That includes our umpires. We need more of you. We appreciate those that come out every week, rain or shine. "And of course, thank you to all the families and supporters that come out every week and get behind this amazing sport. What an incredible feeling to be part of the history of women’s football. "Thank you to all those that make it possible."

Following Demi Sharp on 19 votes was fellow Mt Compass player, Amy Taylor, who finished as the 2021 GSFLW runner-up Best and Fairest. Association and Southern District ruck, Rachel Searle, finished third with 17 votes, while Willunga's Kristen Rothwell and Yankalilla's Helen Maidment rounded out the top five.

Amy Taylor (left) & Demi Sharp (right)

GSFLW Medal Count - Top 15

1st - Demi Sharp, 23

2nd - Amy Taylor, 19

3rd - Rachel Searle, 17

4th - Kristen Rothwell, 15

5th - Helen Maidment, 14

6th - Layla Rogers, 11

7th - Ella Radbone, 10

8th - Nari Wright, 10

9th - Sheena Peters, 10

10th - Emogen Johnson, 9

11th - Ally Bailey, 9

12th - Katrice Turner, 8

13th - Megan Hoad, 7

14th - Brooke Boileau, 7

15th - Jemma Ellis, 7

Open Women's Leading Goalkicker

McLaren's Sheena Peters made her presence felt during her debut GSFLW season, finishing with a season-high tally of 34 goals.

A member of the Association side and the Southern Districts side, Sheena's season included six goals against Encounter Bay and she also kicked five against Victor Harbor during both match-ups this season.

Following close behind was the joint U17s Leading Goalkicker, Jessica Harris, whose season tally sat at an impressive 31 goals. Included in this was seven majors which she kicked against Victor Harbor during the early stages of the season.

Fellow Willunga prospect, Shae Archbold, followed closely behind with 25 goals for the season.

Yankalilla duo, Kimberly Robinson and Jasmine Smith, rounded out the top five goalkickers of the 2021 Open Women's season.

U17 Girls Best and Fairest

Playing her first season in the GSFLW, Shae Archbold has certainly managed to make her presence felt by winning the 2021 GSFLW U17s Best and Fairest.

Finishing with 28 votes, three above last year's winner, Yankalilla's Jemma Ellis, the exciting Willunga prospect's standout season also included a great display in the Association side.

As mentioned above, last year's winner Jemma Ellis, finished off another great season by this time coming runner-up. Last year's runner-up, Victor Harbor's Jaimee Millard, finished third this season with 16 votes.

Goolwa's Kalani Bates, who was the Best on Ground during the Association match, finished with 14 votes while rounding out the top five is Willunga's Bella Rigby who claimed 11 votes.

Shae Archbold

GSFLW U17s Medal Count - Top 15

1st - Shae Archbold, 28

2nd - Jemma Ellis, 25

3rd - Jaimee Millard, 16

4th - Kalani Bates, 14

5th - Bella Rigby, 11

6th - Alissa Brook, 10

7th - Kiahni Russell, 9

8th - Indi Quaremba, 8

9th - Desiree Cooke, 7

10th - Lianna Trueman, 7

11th - Tyla Millard, 7

12th - Chloe Howlett, 6

13th - Deriney Headon, 6

14th - Rachael Sommerville, 6

15th - Ruby McBeath, 6

U17 Girls Leading Goalkicker

The U17s Leading Goalkicker was a two-way tie between Kiahni Russell (pictured right) from Mt Compass and Willunga's Jessica Harris (pictured left) who both finished with a season tally of 30. This means that for Jess, her total home and away tally across both the Opens and U17s seasons equals an impressive 61 goals.

Then, with a tally of 25, it was Victor Harbor's Tyla Millard, while the U17s Best and Fairest, Shae Archbold, finished with 23 goals.

Rounding out the top five was the pacey Mt Compass player, Desiree Cooke, who finished with 18 majors.

Feel free to share, and don't forget to Like and Subscribe for more on Women's Footy!


Minutes with Moose would like to thank all of our ambassadors.

Logo and Cover are owned by MWM; all football images have been supplied by the players and were personally took.

#WatchtheWomen #GSFLW #AwardsNight #MinuteswithMoose

164 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All